Stockbridge, MA--Speaker Series: Jonathan Dee--Author of The Locals

Oct 01 2017

Stockbridge, MA–Speaker Series: Jonathan Dee–Author of The Locals

When:
October 14, 2017 @ 4:00 pm
2017-10-14T16:00:00-04:00
2017-10-14T16:15:00-04:00
Where:
Stockbridge Library
Main St
Stockbridge, MA
USA
Cost:
Free
 

 

 

In the nervous months after 9/11, a rural working-class New England town elects as its mayor a New York hedge fund millionaire, where he has the unchecked power to do everything from gutting the town’s tax base to personally installing security cameras on Main Street.  The Locals follows the residents of this formerly idyllic Berkshires community as they grow ever more disillusioned with civic duty and one another.  A broad-reaching novel with a large and cleverly drawn cast in the tradition of Jonathan Franzen, Tom Perrotta, and Jennifer Egan, The Locals brilliantly captures the dramas of the post-9/11 era-working class decline, fears of terrorism, and the rise of authoritarian government-culminating in one violent, irreversible event that will change the town forever.We are pleased to welcome Pulitzer finalist Jonathan Dee to our speaker series to discuss his new, critically-acclaimed novel The Locals, which is set in the southern Berkshires.

About the author: Jonathan Dee is the author of seven novels, most recently A Thousand Pardons.  His novel The Privileges was a finalist for the 2010 Pulitzer Prize and winner of the 2011 Prix Fitzgerald and the St. Francis College Literary Prize.  A former contributing writer for The New York Times Magazine, a senior editor of The Paris Review, and a National Magazine Award-nominated literary critic for Harper’s, he has received fellowships from the National Endowment of the Arts and the Guggenheim Foundation.